THE FEMALEBIOHACKER.

Women’s health.
Evidence in context.

Explore the tools
Menu
Published 13 September 2026
Educational information · Independent medical review has not been completed. Review policy
On this page
  1. Human physiology is not therapeutic proof
  2. Three evidence categories
  3. What FDA’s assessment means
  4. No protocol is supplied here
  5. Sources and exact limits
  6. Continue reading
Evidence-led guide

MOTS-c: Human Evidence, Regulatory Status, and the Therapy Gap

Human studies measuring naturally occurring MOTS-c are not evidence that injected or compounded MOTS-c improves health. A recruiting trial is evidence that a question is being tested—not that it has been answered.

Human physiology is not therapeutic proof

A small exercise experiment measured endogenous mitochondrial-derived peptides before and after exercise; it did not administer MOTS-c as a treatment.1 A study in women with PCOS and healthy participants also measured endogenous MOTS-c responses; it was not an injection-efficacy trial.2

Three evidence categories

Measured in humans

Endogenous levels and physiology have been studied.12

Investigational administration

NCT07505745 is a Phase 2a trial record with no posted results.3

Compounding policy

FDA’s July 2026 materials proposed not including MOTS-c free base or acetate on the 503A Bulks List.4

What FDA’s assessment means

FDA evaluated MOTS-c-related bulk substances for a compounding-policy decision and documented scientific and safety questions.5 This regulatory evaluation is not a consumer dosing guide, and the committee proposal should not be described as a final rule.

No protocol is supplied here

This page does not provide a dose, route, cycle, vendor, source or self-experiment protocol. Product identity, sterility, impurities, stability, pharmacology and human safety cannot be inferred from the peptide name alone.

Claim-level evidence

Sources and exact limits

  1. Acute endurance exercise stimulates circulating levels of mitochondrial-derived peptides in humans. Human physiology study. PMID 34351816. Design/population: Small randomized exercise experiment; Approximately 30 adults across endurance, resistance and control groups. Limit: Measured endogenous mitochondrial-derived peptides after exercise; did not administer MOTS-c as a therapy. Disclosure: Public/nonprofit funding; authors declared no financial conflicts. Checked 2026-09-02.
  2. Lipids and insulin regulate mitochondrial-derived peptide (MOTS-c) in PCOS and healthy subjects. Human physiology study. PMID 31066084. DOI 10.1111/cen.14007. Design/population: Infusion/clamp study with an exercise follow-up; Women with PCOS and healthy comparison participants. Limit: Measured endogenous circulating MOTS-c; does not test injected or compounded MOTS-c as treatment. Disclosure: See full record for disclosures. Checked 2026-09-02.
  3. MOTS-c for Improving Insulin Sensitivity in Adults With Prediabetes and Overweight/Obesity. ClinicalTrials.gov registry record (NCT07505745). Design/population: Phase 2a randomized double-blind placebo-controlled study; no posted results; Planned enrollment: 120 adults with prediabetes and overweight/obesity. Limit: Recruiting record with no results posted; registration is not evidence of efficacy or established safety. Disclosure: Sponsor: Hudson Biotech. Checked 2026-09-02.
  4. July 2026 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee: MOTS-c recommendation. FDA advisory-committee presentation. Design/population: Regulatory proposal presented to PCAC; Section 503A compounding policy; not a therapeutic trial. Limit: FDA proposed that MOTS-c free base and acetate not be included on the 503A Bulks List; a proposal is not a final rule. Disclosure: Not reported or not applicable. Checked 2026-09-02.
  5. FDA briefing document: MOTS-c-related bulk drug substances. FDA scientific/regulatory assessment. Design/population: Agency evaluation for 503A consideration; Compounding-policy evidence; not a patient treatment study. Limit: Regulatory evaluation does not establish clinical efficacy or provide a consumer dosing pathway. Disclosure: Not reported or not applicable. Checked 2026-09-02.