On this page
Menopause Hormone Therapy: A Product-Specific Decision Framework
Menopause hormone therapy is not one uniform exposure. Symptom, product, route, formulation, dose, timing, uterus status, contraindications and follow-up all shape a qualified clinical decision.
Use current guidance and current labels
The 2022 Menopause Society position statement describes benefits and risks as varying by type, dose, duration, route, timing and whether a progestogen is used.1 FDA approved labeling changes for menopausal hormone therapy products in 2026, so older summaries should be checked against current product information.2
The decision components
Bring these questions
- What symptom or indication is treatment intended to address?
- What exact product, route and formulation are being considered?
- Which contraindications and individual risk factors apply?
- What outcome, adverse effects and follow-up interval will be monitored?
- When will the decision be reevaluated?
Reader safety boundary
ACOG’s menopause overview can help orient a symptom discussion, but a symptom list cannot determine personal treatment suitability.4 Do not start, stop or change prescription therapy based on this page.
Claim-level evidence
Sources and exact limits
- The 2022 hormone therapy position statement of The North American Menopause Society. Professional consensus statement. PMID 35797481. DOI 10.1097/GME.0000000000002028. Design/population: Expert panel review and consensus; Women considering menopause hormone therapy. Limit: Recommendations require individualization; source predates FDA’s 2026 labeling changes. Disclosure: See full statement for panel disclosures. Checked 2026-09-02.
- FDA Approves Labeling Changes to Menopausal Hormone Therapy Products. FDA regulatory announcement. Design/population: 2026 label-change announcement; Users of affected U.S. products. Limit: Summarizes labeling changes; exact current product labeling controls. Disclosure: Not reported or not applicable. Checked 2026-09-02.
- Menopausal Hormone Therapies: Updated Prescribing Information. FDA regulatory source. Design/population: Current product-label collection; Users of affected U.S. products. Limit: Product, route and formulation matter; this is not an individualized benefit-risk decision. Disclosure: Not reported or not applicable. Checked 2026-09-02.
- The Menopause Years. Professional medical-society patient guidance. Design/population: Clinical education page; Women in the menopause transition and after menopause. Limit: General educational guidance; a clinician must assess individual symptoms and contraindications. Disclosure: Not reported or not applicable. Checked 2026-09-02.